Technical Award Winners announced for IIFA 2012

Technical Award Winners announced for IIFA 2012

Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara leads the tally with five nominations,

Ra.One comes a close second with four.

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) today announced winners of the Technical Awards categories for the IIFA Awards 2012. The winners will receive their trophies at the IIFA Rocks on June 8th 2012, in Singapore.

Zoya Akhtar’s Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara has garnered the highest number of IIFA’s in the technical category where the award for Cinematography went to Carlos Catalan, Best Editing to Anand Subaya, Choreography to Bosco Caesar for the popular song Senorita and the IIFA for Best Sound Mixing went to Anuj Mathur & Baylon Fonseca.

The Shah Rukh starrer Ra.One won four awards including, the IIFA for Best Production Designer for Sabu Cyril, Best Sound Recording to Resul Pookutty & Amrit Pritam Dutta, Best Song Recording to Vijay Dayal and Best Special Effects to Red Chillies VFX.

Milan Luthria’s The Dirty Picture bagged three IIFA’s, Rajat Arora for Best Dialogue, Niharika Khan for Costume Designing and Vikram Gaikwad will receive an IIFA for Best Make-Up, while Rohit Shetty’s Singham won an IIFA for Best Action which went to Jai Singh Nijjar and A. R. Rahman won the Best Backgroud Score Award for Rockstar.

The IIFA Awards Voting process is a stringent and methodical procedure that is closely monitored by PriceWaterHouse Coopers (PwC), the official auditors for the event. The technical awards are decided strictly on the basis of industry peer voting. The popular category nominations have gone live for the global audience to decide who should take home IIFA gold at The votes from the online polling will be tallied by PwC and will only be announced on the night of the IIFA Awards 2012 at the Singapore Indoor Stadium in Singapore when the envelope is opened onstage, in front of the live audience. The results are surrounded by secrecy and the participation of the film industry and fans along with credibility of the voting process is one of the key parameters of this prestigious celebration.

Tickets for the IIFA Awards can be purchased online on from May 12 onwards.

For its 13th year celebrations, IIFA will travel to Singapore this year where the IIFA Weekend and Awards will take place from the 7th – 9th June.  IIFA gives the Indian film fraternity an opportunity to reach audiences in international territories while promoting the same on a global platform. It is a pioneering endeavor that also establishes a symbiotic relationship between India and the host country in areas such as tourism, culture and trade.

Technical Award Winners List


Carlos Catalan – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara


Reema Kagti & Zoya Akhtar – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara


Rajat Aroraa – The Dirty Picture


Anand Subaya – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

Production Designer

Sabu Cyril – Ra. One


Bosco-Caesar – Senorita – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara


Jai Singh Nijjar – Singham

Sound Recording

Resul Pookutty & Amrit Pritam Dutta – Ra. One

Song Recording

Vijay Dayal – Chammak Challo – Ra. One

Sound Mixing

Anuj Mathur & baylon Fonseca – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

Special Effects (Visuals):

Red Chillies VFX – Ra. One

Background Score

A.R. Rahman – Rockstar

Costume Designing

Niharika Khan – The Dirty Picture


Vikram Gaikwad – The Dirty Picture

About IIFA

Conceptualized and produced by Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. and supported by the key members of the Indian film fraternity, IIFA is the most appreciated South Asian film academy. Also, the IIFA Awards is India’s biggest media event. With a viewership of almost 700 million, it is among the world’s most-watched annual entertainment events.

From a one night celebration in 2000 at the Millennium Dome, London, the last ten years have seen the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) movement grow into a packed weekend of film-festivals, workshops, exhibitions, film-showcases, a global business forum and sporting events, all of which climax into the highlight of the Weekend, the IIFA Awards.