Lenny Rodrigues wins “Player of the Year Award” at FPAI Indian Football Awards 2013

Lenny Rodrigues wins “Player of the Year Award” at FPAI Indian Football Awards 2013
Lenny Rodrigues of Churchill Brothers Goa won the “Player of the Year” award at the prestigious FPAI Indian Football Awards function.He has played a pivotal role in ensuring his team’s title winning run this season. On receiving the award, Lenny said, “I would like to thank all the players who voted for me. I would also like to thank my team-mates, coaching staff and Mr. Churchill Alemao and his family for supporting and believing in my abilities.”
A Special Award was presented by Mr. Bhaichung Bhutia to Mr. Churchill Alemao for his massive contribution to Indian football and winning the I League 2012-13. Churchill Brothers Goa CEO Ms Valanka Alemao and Patron Savio Alemao accepted the Award. Speaking on the occasion, Valanka said, “I would like to thank the FPAI and Bhaichung Bhutia for recognizing the hard work put in by my dad for the development of Indian Football. Winning the I league is a very proud moment for us and a gift to my dad for his passion for football. I do believe if like-minded work together, Indian Football will grow and will be able to compete with cricket.”

Lenny being presented the Player of the Year Award by Marc Robinson and the Bombay Gymkhana President.

Mr. Abhishek Bachchan congratulated Ms Valanka Alemao and Mr. Savio Alemao on Churchill Brothers’ success at the I League and hoped other passionate football lovers like Mr. Churchill Alemao would support Indian football.

Other Awards

Foreign Player of the Year – Ranti Martins

Young Player – Alwyn George

Coach of the Year – Derrick Peirera

Fan Player of the Year – Zohib Amiri