Gaurav Nandrajog Wins the Coca Cola Squash Open Championship 2012

Gaurav Nandrajog Wins the Coca Cola Squash Open Championship 2012

Karm Kumar becomes first Men’s U-23 Champion; Ranjit Singh wins Boys’ U-17 final

New Delhi, Second seed Gaurav Nandrajog stunned first seed Sandeep Jhangra 3-2 (7-11, 7-11, 12-10, 11-8, 11-7) in final match of the Coca-Cola Squash Open Championship 2012, played at Kendriya Vidyalaya Squash Courts, R K Puram on Sunday. This is an outstanding return of Gaurav, who came back from an injury after a year. In 2006 Senior National Squash Championship, he beat Ritwik Bhattacharya in the semi-final match.

Sandeep, who clinched Bronze Medal in team championship category of the 2010 Asian Games, won first two games to give a tough fight to Gaurav. But, Gaurav found his lost form in the third game and after that, he won last three games continuously to claim the prize money of Rs 35,000/-.

In Men’s U-23, Karm Kumar became the first champion of the newly introduced category of the 105th tournament, organised by Indian Squash Professionals (ISP). Karm thrashed Rishi Jalan 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-7) in the final match.

In Girls U-19 final match, Urwashi Joshi of Birla College, Mumbai easily defeated Tanvi Khanna 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-5).

In Boys’ U-17 final, Ranjit Singh upset Ashwary Singh of Jindal Squash Academy, Mumbai 3-0 (11-9, 11-4, 11-3) in the toughest match of Day 6.

More than 350 players of all age-categories from all over the country competed for the whopping prize money of Rs 3.25 Lacs. They cheered by Squash players, enthusiasts and school children along with their parents.



Men’s Open Final: Gaurav Nandrajog bt Sandeep Jhangra 3-2 (7-11, 7-11, 12-10, 11-8, 11-7). 3rd Position: Karm Kumar bt Laxman Joshi 3-0 (11-6, 11-6, 11-4).

Men’s U-23 Final: Karm Kumar bt Rishi Jalan 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-7).

Girls U-19 Final: Urwashi Joshi bt Tanvi Khanna 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-5).

Boys U-17 Final: Ranjit Singh bt Ashwary Singh 3-0 (11-9, 11-4, 11-3).

Girls U-15 Final: Sanika Choudhary bt Mahima Gupta 3-0 (11-3, 11-7, 11-5)

Girls U-13 Final: Bhavna Yadav bt Nandika 3-2 (10-12, 11-5, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6).

Boys U-11 Final: Sankalp Anand bt Pritvi Singh 3-2 (11-8, 11-6, 8-11, 6-11, 11-9).

Girls U-11 Final: Megha Bhatia bt Janiya Singh 3-0 (12-10, 11-5, 12-10